Skip to content

Theoretical, ethical, and social implications of AI for neuropsychiatric research and practice – TESIComP

Welcome to TESIComP

What is the background of the project?

AI-based approaches such as machine learning using neural networks are increasingly being used in neuropsychiatric research and practice. They are expected to enable more precise prediction, early detection and diagnosis, and thus more targeted treatment of neuropsychiatric disorders. However, the basis of the results obtained with these computational psychiatry methods is often no longer readily comprehensible to professional users as well as to patients and their relatives. This opacity of AI-based approaches raises fundamental theoretical, ethical, and social questions for neuropsychiatric research and practice.

What is the objective?

The overarching goal of the interdisciplinary collaborative project “TESIComP” is the empirical identification, ethical evaluation, and scientific assessment of theoretical and practical implications and consequences of computational psychiatry at the levels of neuropsychiatric research and clinical practice. The focus is on two prominent application areas of AI-based approaches: Alzheimer’s disease and de-pressive disorders.

How is the project structured?

The joint project TESIComP links three substantive (two medical/one ethical) subprojects at different locations, which, within the framework of different methods of qualitative social research as well as ethical and scientific theoretical analysis, deal with the implications of computational psychiatry for neuropsychiatric research and practice, the discipline’s understanding of illness and science, and the (professional) self-image of clinicians, researchers, patients, and relatives.

> more about our research

What results do we expect?

In the project, we aim to develop empirically-informed ethical recommendations to inform psychiatric practice, technology development, and policymakers.

> more about our research

Who are the involved parties?

The University of Oldenburg, Heidelberg University Medical Center and the DZNE are involved in the TESIComP project.

> more about who we are

Direkt zum Inhalt wechseln

Theoretische, ethische und soziale Implikationen von KI für neuropsychiatrische Forschung und Praxis – TESIComP

Willkommen bei TESIComP!

Was ist der Hintergrund?

KI-basierte Ansätze wie maschinelles Lernen mittels neuronaler Netze finden zunehmend Ein-satz in der neuropsychiatrischen Forschung und Praxis. Sie sollen eine präzisere Prädiktion, Früherkennung und Diagnose und damit auch eine gezieltere Behandlung neuropsychiatrischer Erkrankungen ermöglichen. Allerdings ist die Grundlage der mit diesen Verfahren der computationalen Psychiatrie erzielten Ergebnisse für professionelle Anwender wie auch für Patientinnen bzw. Patienten und deren Angehörigen oft nicht mehr ohne Weiteres nachvollziehbar. Diese Opazität, also die Undurchschaubarkeit KI-basierter Ansätze, wirft grundlegende theoretische, ethische und soziale Fragen für die neuropsychiatrische Forschung und Praxis auf.

Was ist das Ziel?

Das übergreifende Ziel des interdisziplinären Verbundvorhabens „TESIComP“ ist die empirische Identifikation, ethische Bewertung und wissenschaftliche Beurteilung theoretischer und praktischer Implikationen und Konsequenzen der computationalen Psychiatrie auf den Ebenen der neuropsychiatrischen Forschung und der klinischen Praxis. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf zwei prominenten Anwendungsfeldern von KI-basierten Ansätzen: Alzheimer-Krankheit und depressive Störungen.

Wie ist das Projekt aufgebaut?

Das Verbundprojekt TESIComP vernetzt drei inhaltliche (zwei medizinische/ein ethisches) Teilprojekte an verschiedenen Standorten, die sich im Rahmen verschiedener Methoden der qualitativen Sozialforschung sowie ethischer und wissenschaftstheoretischer Analyse mit den Implikationen der computationalen Psychiatrie auf die neuropsychiatrische Forschung und Praxis, das Krankheits- und Wissenschaftsverständnis der Disziplin sowie auf das (professionelle) Selbstverständnis von Klinikern, Forschenden, Patienten und Angehörigen.

> Zur unseren Studienergebnissen

Welche Ergebnisse erwarten wir?

Wir wollen in dem Projekt empirisch-informierte ethische Empfehlungen erarbeiten, die in die psychiatrische Praxis, die Technikentwicklung und politische Entscheidungsträger einfließen sollen.

> Zur unseren Studienergebnissen

Wer sind die Beteiligten?

Am Projekt TESIComP sind die Universität Oldenburg, die Universitätsmedizin Heidelberg und das DZNE beteiligt.

> zu unserem Team